The Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans consists of seven commissioners. They are unsalaried and serve five-year staggered terms. The Governor of Louisiana appoints members from a list of three nominations submitted by 19 local civic, labor, education and maritime groups.

The Board reflects the Port’s three-parish jurisdiction, with two members from Jefferson Parish, four from Orleans Parish and one from St. Bernard Parish. Commissioner Jack C. Jensen and Commissioner Joseph F. Toomy represent Jefferson Parish. Chairman Darryl D. Berger, Vice-Chairman William H. Langenstein, III, Commissioner Tara C. Hernandez and Commissioner Walter J. Leger, Jr. represent Orleans Parish. Secretary-Treasurer Charles H. Ponstein represents St. Bernard Parish.

In response to the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency, Board meetings will convene virtually on Thursday, February 25, 2021 using Zoom. The Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans will convene at 1:30 p.m., followed immediately by the New Orleans Public Belt Railroad Commission for the Port of New Orleans.

The link to access the Zoom livestream of the meetings is provided below, and will be posted to PortNOLA and RailNOLA. Public comments will be accepted during each respective meeting.

February Board Agenda

PONO & NOPB Regular Board Meetings - Feb. 25

Phone one-tap:

US: +13017158592,,98280671091# or +13126266799,,98280671091#

Meeting URL:

Meeting ID:

982 8067 1091


US: +1 877 853 5247 (Toll Free) or 888 788 0099 (Toll Free) or 833 548 0276 (Toll Fre

Upcoming 2021 Regular Port NOLA Board Meetings

  • February 25
  • March 25
  • April 22
  • May 20
  • June 24
  • July 22
  • August 26
  • September 23
  • October 21
  • November 18
  • December 16

For information on past board meetings click here.